Book Release: Crannig Castle Review


Happy Thursday, friends. Today, we have a book review for my sweet friend Morgan Elizabeth Huneke’s newest book, Crannig Castle.

Some of you may recognize her name from my partciation in the virtual book tours of hers, from cover reveals to reviews to interviews, and also as a somewhat frequent commenter here on this blog. Morgan’s awesome.

Without further adeiu, here’s the description, then stay tuned for my review following.


About the Book


God, please look after Adriel. Keep him safe and keep him from acting foolish. And please help him to be able to find me.

Rae knew she could trust God to look after both of them. It was all she had now.

The Time Captives have been reunited. The rightful king has been freed. Now all that remains is to defeat the strytes who still hold a tyrannical rule over the people of Calhortz. But with their lack of soldiers, it’s a task that is easier said than done. They need allies, but are they worth it when it requires facing ghosts from their pasts?
Returning to his home country only brings the loss of Adriel’s family to the forefront of his mind. His determination to find Rae has never ceased, but now that determination could potentially destroy all that he and the Time Captives have been working towards. And his new-found faith may not be able to withstand the challenge.
Will they be able to set aside their personal struggles for the sake of the freedom of all or will they allow their pasts to consume them? Will they manage to win back Crannig Castle from the rule of the strytes? The fate of Calhortz hangs in the balance.
Crannig Castle is the final book of the Time Captives trilogy, a tale of faith, family, fantasy, and a fight for truth and freedom.

If this all sounds foreign to you, no worries. Amanda’s DIY-SparkNotes says this:

Four modern-day American siblings crawl into a fantasy world one day, only to discover that their presumed-deceased ancestors are there, stuck at the ages they disappeared at (twelve years old, a new child disappearing every twenty years). This group of kids is collectively known as the Time Captives – they won’t be able to age or return home until their mission of freeing the country of Calhortz is complete.

Along the way, we meet new characters, including a gladiator slave – Adriel – among others.

Now we’re in the last book, a fast-paced wrap-up to the journey we’ve been on since book 1.

I had the pleasure of editing this book, and chapter after chapter, I was intrigued to see what went on next.

There are many characters to keep straight, and you may want to briefly skim the other two in the series if you’ve read them a while back before picking this one up. The backstory flashbacks focus on different characters throughout the three different books, and it’s interesting to learn more about each of them as the series progresses. My favorite characters are probably Grant and Eleanor, and if you read their stories, you’ll see why.

The plot’s somewhat complicated, but if you enjoy faith, fantasy, and a touch of politics, I’m sure you’ll enjoy this series. Each character plays a special role in fighting for the freedom and justice of the Calhortan people.

And if you’re one of those people that enjoys an actual good, satisfying ending to a series, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed! Aimed at Middle Grade readers and above.

Buy Now

Kindle | Paperback | Signed Copy | Add to Goodreads

Other Books in This Series:

Creighton Hill

The Crossways

About the Author

Morgan Huneke ProfileMorgan Elizabeth Huneke is a homeschool graduate who lives in Georgia. She has enjoyed creating characters and writing stories since early childhood. Books have always been a big part of her life, never more so than when working at the local library. Her other interests include reading, playing the piano and violin, and politics.

You can connect with Morgan on her website, blog, Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Google Plus, and Pinterest.


Join in the excitement of Crannig Castle and enter to win a special prize! The first prize winner will receive signed copies of the entire Time Captives trilogy. The second prize winner will receive a signed copy of Crannig Castle. The third prize winner will receive an eCopy of Crannig Castle in the eBook format of his/her choice. Giveaway open to U.S. residents only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Be sure to check out the other tour posts here!


2 Replies to “Book Release: Crannig Castle Review”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: